我的行程
(0)

巴厘岛景点

酒店快捷查找工具 | 选择入住日期
 
  • 乌鲁瓦图寺 - Pura Luhur Uluwatu

    巴厘岛寺庙

    0

    乌鲁瓦图寺或 Pura Luhur Uluwatu 是被视为巴厘岛精神支柱的六大寺庙之一,以其险峻的地理位置而闻名,坐落在高出海平面约 70 米的断崖之上。该寺与位于巴厘岛西海岸上的另一座重要海神庙 Tanah Lot Temple 一样,均可欣赏到绚烂的落日余晖。

    Pura Luhur Uluwatu 无疑是岛上最高的场所之一,方便游客追寻落日影踪,俯瞰美丽的印度洋,欣赏每日演出的 Kecak 舞蹈表演。巴厘岛风格的建筑、传统设计的通道以及古代雕塑,为乌鲁瓦图寺平添了几分魅力。

    Read More
  • 毫无疑问,正是位于印度洋波涛之上 250 英尺高的台地边缘的崖顶环境使得乌鲁瓦图寺壮观无比。在巴厘语中,“乌鲁”意为“顶”或“巅”,而“瓦图”则意为“石”或“岩”。在此发现的部分考古遗存证明,这座由巨石建造而成的庙宇其历史可追溯到约公元 10 世纪。乌鲁瓦图寺有南北两处入口。

    寺前有一片小树林,数以百计的猴子栖息于此。据信,这些精灵可保护该寺不受破坏。蜿蜒的小径直通寺内,悬崖一侧则用混凝土墙加固。从寺庙的一头走到另一头约需一个小时,沿途有多处由栅栏围起来的区域可供驻足。崖底澎湃的海浪冲击着巨岩,海平面上景色非凡。

    巴厘岛的印度教徒认为梵天、毗湿奴和湿婆三大神灵在此合而为一。在此信仰的影响下,乌鲁瓦图寺成为朝拜巴厘印度教神明湿婆楼陀罗的重要场所,湿婆楼陀罗在印度教中是掌管宇宙中所有元素和万物的神灵。此外,Pura Uluwatu 也旨在保护巴厘岛免遭邪恶海神的毒手。

    历史

    据铭文记载,乌鲁瓦图寺是在距今约 1,000 年前由一名满者伯夷的僧侣 Mpu Kunturan 发起修建的,他还参与建设了巴厘岛上的其他几座重要庙宇,如登巴萨的 Pura Sakenan。此后,一位来自东爪哇的圣僧 Dhang Hyang Dwijendra 选择乌鲁瓦图寺作为其宗教之旅的最后朝圣地。巴厘印度教信徒认为他达到了与众神合一的最高宗教境界,一道闪电过后此人便彻底消失了。

    然而,传说称 Dhang Hyang Dwijendra(根据其姓名也被称为 Danghyang Nirartha)是乌鲁瓦图寺以及巴厘岛、龙目岛和松巴哇岛的其他部分庙宇的建筑师。在 1983 年之前,Pura Uluwatu 几乎很难进入,1999 年的一次雷击则让该寺部分建筑在烈火中化为乌有。从初建以来,该寺已历经多次重修。

    亮点及特色

    在乌鲁瓦图寺主殿背后的一个庭院之中,置有一座面朝印度洋的婆罗门雕像,此雕像据称为 Dhang Hyang Dwijendra 的肖像。 该寺的两处入口均为雕有树叶和花卉的分隔门。每个门前都有一对象头人身雕像。

    通往乌鲁瓦图寺内院的带翼一体石门是公元 10 世纪的遗物。带翼石门在岛上并不常见。 Pura Uluwatu 在公元 16 世纪增添了 Pura Dalem Jurit。其内部设有三座雕像,其中之一为梵天。

    寺庙区域内有两处石槽。如果将其连起来,便会组成一个石棺(巨石棺材)。 悬崖之下的乌鲁瓦图海滩,是巴厘岛最具国际知名度的冲浪地点之一。

    “乌鲁瓦图寺”指南

    按照巴厘岛 210 天的 Pawukon 历,每六个月该寺便会举办大寺周年庆活动。该庙的守护者,来自登巴萨的 Jro Kuta 王室是该活动的赞助者。

    警示标志上会提醒游客,猴子会抓抢太阳镜和相机等另其感兴趣的物品。但是,用花生或香蕉喂食则会让其较为平静,此时便可乘机夺回被抢财物。

    在该寺高耸的悬崖之下,海岸线并无任何被明显侵蚀的迹象。信徒们认为这正是神灵庇佑 Pura Uluwatu 的表现。 此处提供公共设施,但均在寺庙区域外。不同于巴厘岛的其他旅游景点,乌鲁瓦图寺内鲜有令人烦扰的小贩。

    游客必须穿着纱笼和腰带以及参观寺庙时常见的适当衣物。寺内提供此类服饰的租赁服务。 最佳游览时间为日落之前。 每日下午 6:00 至晚上 7:00,附近的崖顶舞台有 Kecak 舞蹈表演。游客须缴纳少量费用。在落日美景的衬托下,此处便会成为观赏 Kecak 舞蹈表演的最佳场所。

    此处不提供公共交通,若未预订交通工具或出租车,无论前往此处还是返回城内都较为困难。 尽管会使您的旅途锦上添花,但导游并非非请不可。服务价格极低且极少出现麻烦。

    乌鲁瓦图寺

    • 开放时间: 09:00 – 18:00。但作为宗教朝拜场所,此处每日 24 小时均全天候开放。
    • 位置: Pura Uluwatu 位于巴东县库塔分区培卡图村,库塔以南约 25 公里,往返通常约需一小时车程。
    • 如何到达此地: 沿前往努沙杜瓦和金巴兰的旁路主干道,然后顺着上行路即可到达乌鲁瓦图。
    关闭地图 显示地图
    评价目的地 ( 票)
  • Follow us on FACEBOOK for daily photos!

 
酒店快捷查找工具 | 选择入住日期
 

We try to provide free information that is as up-to-date and accurate as possible. However, if you are planning to travel it's a good idea to double check specific dates and information to avoid surprises.

Loading...

Uluwatu Temple - Pura Luhur Uluwatu

Bali Temples

Uluwatu Temple, or Pura Luhur Uluwatu, one of six key temples believed to be Bali's spiritual pillars, is renowned for its magnificent location, perched on top of a steep cliff approximately 70 metres above sea level. This temple also shares the splendid sunset backdrops as that of Tanah Lot Temple, another important sea temple located in the island's western shores.

Pura Luhur Uluwatu is definitely one of the top places on the island to go to for sunset delights, with direct views overlooking the beautiful Indian Ocean and daily Kecak dance performances. Balinese architecture, traditionally-designed gateways, and ancient sculptures add to Uluwatu Temple's appeal.


Without a doubt, what makes Uluwatu Temple spectacular is its cliff-top setting at the edge of a plateau 250 feet above the waves of the Indian Ocean. 'Ulu' means the ‘top’ or the ‘tip’ and 'watu' means a ‘stone’ or a ‘rock’ in Balinese. Several archaeological remains found here prove the temple to be of megalithic origin, dating back to around the 10th century. There are two entrances to Uluwatu Temple, from the south and the north.

A small forest lies at the front and hundreds of monkeys dwell here. They are believed to guard the temple from bad influences. The serpentine pathway to the temple is fortified by concrete walls on the cliff side. It takes about an hour to get from one end to another as there are several fenced points along the way to stop. The views from the bottom of the water surging up against rocks and the ocean horizon are remarkable.

The Balinese Hindus believe that the three divine powers of Brahma, Vishnu, and Siva become one here. That belief results in making Uluwatu Temple a place of worship of Siva Rudra, the Balinese Hindu deity of all elements and aspects of life in the universe. Pura Uluwatu is also dedicated to protect Bali from evil sea spirits.

 

History

Inscriptions mention that Uluwatu Temple was instigated by Mpu Kunturan, a Majapahit monk who also participated in establishing several other important temples in Bali such as Pura Sakenan in Denpasar, about 1,000 years ago. A holy priest from eastern Java, Dhang Hyang Dwijendra, then chose Uluwatu Temple to be his spiritual journey's final worshiping place. Balinese Hindu devotees believe that he reached the highest spiritual point of oneness with deities by a strike of lightning and completely disappeared.

Legend, however, says that Dhang Hyang Dwijendra (also frequently referred to by name as Danghyang Nirartha) was the architect of Uluwatu Temple and several other temples in Bali, Lombok, as well as Sumbawa. Until 1983, Pura Uluwatu was hardly accessible and a lightning strike in 1999 set some parts of the temple on fire. The temple has had some restorations since it was first built.

Highlights and Features

Behind the main shrine in one of the courtyards of Uluwatu Temple lies a Brahmin statue facing the Indian Ocean, considered as a representation of Dhang Hyang Dwijendra. The two entrances to the temple area are split gates with leaves and flowers carvings. In front of each of them are a couple of sculptures shaped like a human body with an elephant head.

A heritage of the 10th century is the one-piece winged stone gate to the inside courtyard of Pura Uluwatu. Winged gates are not commonly found on the island. An addition to Pura Uluwatu in the 16th century is Pura Dalem Jurit. There are three statues in it, one of them is of Brahma.

There are two stone troughs in the temple area. If both of them are joined, they create a sarchopagus (Megalithic coffin). Uluwatu Beach, below the cliff, is one of Bali's best internationally-known surfing spots.

Good to Know about Uluwatu Temple

Every six months according to the Balinese 210-day Pawukon cycle, big temple anniversary celebrations are held at the temple. The temple's keeper, the royal family of Jro Kuta from Denpasar, are patrons for the event.

Precautionary signs warn visitors of the monkeys grabbing attractive items such as sunglasses and cameras. However, they can be calmer when approached with peanuts or bananas, lending an opportunity to retake stolen possessions.

There hasn't been any significant erosion on the shoreline underneath the temple's towering cliff. Believers regard it as a manifestation of the divine power that protects Pura Uluwatu. Public facilities are available, but not in the temple area. Unlike some other tourist destinations in Bali, Uluwatu Temple area has limited amounts of hassling vendors.

Visitors must wear a sarong and a sash, as well as appropriate clothes common for temple visits. They can be hired here. The best time to visit is just before sunset. A Kecak dance is performed everyday at the adjacent cliff-top stage at 18:00 to 19:00. Visitors are charged a nominal fee. What makes it the most favourite venue to watch a Kecak dance is the sunset background of the performance.

There's no public transportation to get here and going back in to town will be difficult without any prearranged ride or taxi. A guide is not necessary, though helpful. The service offered is hassle-free at very minimum prices.

 

Related Tours

Bali Sunset Dinner

Jimbaran Beach is extremely tranquil. Along the beach there are many opportunities for dining out. Many of the local people have opened up various cafes for passersby and local and international visitors. Read More...

Uluwatu Temple

Opening Hours: 09:00 – 18:00. As a place of worship however, it is open 24 hours daily.
Location: Pura Uluwatu is located in Pecatu Village, Kuta sub-district, Badung regency, about 25km south of Kuta and it usually takes around one hour to get to and from there.
How to get there: Take the bypass main road to Nusa Dua and to Jimbaran and then follow the ascending road up to Uluwatu.

Related Page

Top 10 Best Tours in Bali

With stunning beaches, a vast expanse of terraced rice fields and a wealth of fascinating culture and nature to discover, Bali continues to attract travellers from all corners of the world. Read More...

 
Uluwatu Monkey Forest

Uluwatu Temple in Bali’s Bukit peninsula resembles the picturesque postcard image of Tanah Lot with the splendid backdrop of the sea – but with the addition of grey long-tailed macaques.  Read More...

Taman Ayun Temple

Taman Ayun Temple is a landmark in the village of Mengwi, Badung regency, 17km northwest of Denpasar, boasting magnificent traditional architecture throughout its courtyards. Read More...

 
Besakih Temple Besakih Temple

Besakih Temple, Bali’s ‘Mother Temple’ for over 1,000 years, is perched 1,000 metres high on the southwestern slopes of Mount Agung, and consists of at least 86 temples. Read More...

Hotels in Uluwatu
Loading...

LOCATION :  
HOTEL :  
CHECK IN : CHECK OUT : FOR : NIGHT(S)
IN : Loading...  

Send us your feedback

Help us keep this website up-to-date by sending us your comments and suggestions. If your question is about a hotel please use this link - For TOUR questions and enquiries please use this link


Hotel Quick Finder

City:
Check In:
Check Out:
in:
Loading...
Bali Attractions
Download our Free {place} Guide

Asia Web Direct Travel Club members have access to our free travel guides, and lots of other travel specials and benefits from the Asia Travel Specialists.

Please enter your details and we'll send your free {place} Travel Guide to you straight away. We will also add you to our free Asia Web Direct Travel Club Newsletter.

All fields are required.

We will not pass your details on to any other company or individual. We take your privacy seriously!

in
in Loading... out